fujifilm x100f wide aperture problems

· mvexel's blog

#photography

I had had suspicions for a while that my Fujifilm X100f has image quality issues when using wide apertures (f/4 and wider). Some reviews mention poor corner performance at large apertures, but I don't think it's just the corners. Shooting subjects at close distance, center frame performance seemed poor as well with loss of detail, some ghosting and chromatic aberration. So I thought I'd finally run some tests. It's worse than I thought!

Here's a photo taken at the widest aperture, f/2:

f/2

A crop at 100% on the focus target:

f/2 crop

Pretty terrible!

Let's try f2.8:

f/2.8

100% crop:

f/2.8 crop

Still not great. f/4 then?

f/4

100% crop:

f/4 crop

This is pretty good. For comparison, f/16:

f/16

100% crop:

f/16 crop

This quality of the f/16 image is worse because of artifacts introduced by high ISO (12800). But it's clear to see that any aperture below f/4 results in poor quality images.

For me personally, this is not a huge issue, because I hardly ever shoot subjects at close distance. I dug up some photos I took at f/2 throughout the years. (You can open these in a new tab to inspect them at full 6000x4000 res.)

Toronto, March 2019

Toronto, March 2019

Las Vegas, December 2019

Las Vegas, December 2019

Antwerp, May 2019

Antwerp, May 2019